Senate of the Central African Republic
by Juan Fandos-Rius
(UPDATED: 21 August 2016)

The Central African Republic's Constitution of 30 March 2016 states that the national Parliament consists of two houses, known as: the National Assembly and the Senate. The two Houses of the Central African Republic's Parliament jointly convened are called The Congress.

Each house has its own distinct functions and powers. The National Assembly is responsible for passing laws, ensuring that the members of the executive perform their duties properly and providing a forum where the representatives of the Central African People can publicly debate issues. The Senate is also involved in the law-making process and provides a forum for debate on issues affecting the Regions. The Senate main focus is ensuring that regional interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government. The Senate is made up of representatives (called Senators) elected by members of Regional Councils (called councillors).

The Senate election has not yet been held. As long as the Senate is not put into force the National Assembly remains the sole house of the Central African Republic's Parliament.

A full list of chairpersons of the Conseil Représentative, Territorial, Legislative and National Assemblies and National Councils of Transition of Ubangi-Shari during the colonial period and the Central African Republic including their biographies can be found in: Bradshaw, Richard and Juan Fandos-Rius. Historical Dictionary of the Central African Republic. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, New Edition 2016 (see below).

NEW RELEASE June 2016! / VIENT DE PARAÎTRE Juin 2016 !

Historical Dictionary of the Central African Republic
Richard Bradshaw and Juan Fandos-Rius



Histoire des institutions politiques de la République Centrafricaine
Juan Fandos-Rius